18 March 2020 – Closed borders to foreign travellers

This item is sourced from COVID-19 Policy Watch co-ordinated by Policy. We are in the process of gathering further information and aligning taxonomies for these items.

Type of Intervention: Border measures
Sectors Involved:
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency:

Overview: The Dutch Government has closed the national border to people outside of Europe from 19 March 2020 for a period of 30 days.

People who do not belong to countries within the European Union (EU), Schengen area or the United Kingdom are not allowed to enter the Netherlands unless they fall into one of the exemption categories.

The exemption categories include nationals of certain countries, people with certain EU residence rights, people performing crucial jobs, and people with humanitarian needs.

Exemptions are being granted for people with visas and other residence permits. The restriction aligns with the European Commission announcement for a 30-day restriction on non-essential travel to the EU from 16 March 2020.
Full details here: https://www.government.nl/latest/news/2020/03/18/the-netherlands-closes-its-borders-to-persons-from-outside-europe