04 February 2020 – Enhanced border control measures

This item is sourced from COVID-19 Policy Watch co-ordinated by Policy. We are in the process of gathering further information and aligning taxonomies for these items.

Type of Intervention: Border measures
Sectors Involved:
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency:

Overview: South Korea enacted an arrival ban on foreign nationals who had stayed in or transited through China”s Hubei province within the past 14 days preceding attempted entry, effective 0:00 of 4 February.

In addition, Chinese nationals carrying a Hubei-issued passport will not be allowed entry into Korea without proper evidence documenting they were not in Hubei within the past 14 days of entry.

The Embassy also suspended issuance of visas to foreigners who had visited Hubei province within the past 14 days.

The visa-free program for Chinese nationals to Jeju Island was also temporarily suspended.
Full details here: https://en.yna.co.kr/view/AEN20200204003052315