21 March 2020 – Further restrictions on who can enter the country

This item is sourced from the CCCSL: CSH Covid-19 Control Strategies List co-ordinated by the Complexity Science Hub Vienna, Austria. We are in the process of gathering further information and aligning taxonomies for these items.

Type of Intervention: Travel restriction
Sectors Involved: Border restriction
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency:

Overview: The following people will not be permitted to enter Japan: (1) Those who intend to enter Japan with single or multiple-entry visa issued by March 20th by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General in Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland), Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, the United Kingdom, and Vatican. (2) Those who possess a passport issued by the countries for which visa exemption measures are suspended and intend to enter Japan without obtaining a visa.
Full details here: https://www.mofa.go.jp/ca/fna/page6e_000199.html