23 March 2020 – Required South Africans returning from high risk countries to quarantine for 14 days

This item is sourced from COVID-19 Policy Watch co-ordinated by Policy. We are in the process of gathering further information and aligning taxonomies for these items.

Type of Intervention: Border measures
Sectors Involved:
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency:

Overview: The Government of South Africa required South African citizens and residents returning from high risk countries to be automatically placed under quarantine for 14 days.

On 31 March the necessary quarantine time was extended for up to 21 days.
Full details here: https://www.gov.za/speeches/president-cyril-ramaphosa-escalation-measures-combat-coronavirus-covid-19-pandemic-23-mar